Frittata Koreana

20 Aug

Before I started this low-carb diet, my typical breakfast was a habit I acquired in childhood from weekend morning indulgences and stuck to almost religiously once I was old enough to possess a convenient grater of my own.  Hashbrown potatoes and fried eggs, rain or shine.  The diet, of course, said NO potatoes, which was tragic and hard for me to adjust to, but I’ve made a few new habits in the past 3 months (and at 25 lbs down and counting, I have to say it’s working for me!)

Now, instead of grabbing the potatoes and a grater, I roll out of bed to snag a few eggs and a bowl.

I’m a little bit in love with frittatas, after all; it’s impossible to get too bored with something I can mix and match ingredients and flavors within so easily.

Living in Korea, the kimchi tub has become an ubiquitous part of my refrigerator, in all its bulky glory, and the moment it starts looking low, I top it off with another pack.  I’ll be honest–I don’t make my own, I still haven’t learned how and am not sure I want to, when it’s so easy to go downstairs to the mart and pick up any one of the innumerable varieties that I haven’t actually learned the proper names of.  My preferred type is the bright red sort made from bok choi, with as little ‘fishiness’ in the undertones as I can manage.  A lot of people seem intimidated by kimchi, whether it’s the smell, the notion of fermentation, or what.  What can I say, I’ve always liked sauerkraut too!

The other standby in my fridge is a carton of tofu, for when I’m too lazy or not quite hungry enough to thaw some meat, or get the itch to make something local. It’s fast, painless, super easy, and a good source of added protein.  I’ve heard a lot of fuss about the pros and cons of tofu, but my philosophy is that in moderation, it’s no worse than anything else, and better than a few options I can think of, which is true of many foods.  Besides, who am I to argue with the tens of millions of people who eat some variety of tofu nearly daily and seem to be doing just fine?

Ingredients:

1/2″ thick slice of tofu, cubed (firm or extra-firm works well)

1-2 leaves of kimchi, cut into strips (these are big bok choi-sized leaves, mind)

3 eggs, beaten

(optional: green onions, if you’ve got them)

Sauté tofu chunks over a medium-high flame in a wide, flat-bottomed pan with a drizzle of oil. If you like your tofu crisped on the outside, let it fry a little longer before stirring.  Throw the kimchi in on top, stir a few times until the red color begins to turn more noticeably orange-yellow.  Pour the beaten eggs over the top and let them settle.  Turn the heat down to low.  If your pan has a lid, pop the lid on it and wait until the egg has set and puffed up in bubbles a bit before you flip it over.  If your pan doesn’t have a lid, go do something else for a few minutes, then come back and make a complete hash of trying to flip your frittata, like I did today.  Shrug and call it scrambled. Still looks good!

You’re done. Enjoy!

Serves: 1 hungry person, or 2 dainty eaters

One Response to “Frittata Koreana”

  1. audioboon August 20, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Refreshing style and yummy food choices. Can’t wait for your next post.

Leave a Reply

