Rum Double Chocolate Microwave Brownies

1 Sep

The most irritating about my kitchen, here in a tiny Korean studio apartment? (Well, aside from the fact that only one of my burners works…) No oven.  This means, no matter how many fascinating cookie, scone, bread, or pie recipes I see, I can’t give them a test run.  However, a friend swore she’d tried out a microwave cupcake recipe recently that had produced results, and it sent me on a wild Google spree to find something chocolate, carb, and sugar-loaded for my diet ‘cheat day’ that I could create in a microwave.  Naturally, the moment I found a promising-looking recipe, I changed chunks of it, threw in some extras, eyeballed the rest, and experimented wildly before even trying the original.  This was a logical thing to do.

Fortunately for me and my sudden and deep-seated need to eat all the chocolate, it worked.

Might I add that I haven’t had a chocolate muffin or cookie in about 4 months?  This has been on my mind for awhile.

Recipe modified from one on Food.com

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder (natural unsweetened)
1-2 tbsp fruit syrup*
1 shot coconut rum
about 1/4 cup mildly sweet chocolate chips (dark)

*For the fruit syrup, I used pomegranate–you might also use orange or anything you feel blends with chocolate well. Other potential additions might be a small amount of crushed walnut, a dab of shredded coconut if the texture doesn’t tweak you out, mint flakes, or peanut butter chips.

Mix sugar and butter together, finger-kneading until it makes a paste.  Add eggs and vanilla, and stir thoroughly.  Stir flour and cocoa powder together, then mix into the batter, with fruit syrup and shot of rum, if desired.  Add chocolate chips.  Mix until batter is smooth and glossy.

This can be cooked in a glass/microwave-safe cake pan, if you desire (about 4 to 4 and 1/2 minutes in the microwave, checking periodically).  However, if you don’t mind sacrificing a little more time and/or you don’t have a cake pan, smear a bit of olive oil into the bottom of a mug, then glop about two heaping spoonfuls of the batter into the bottom.  It makes a perfect biscuit-sized brownie for individual servings and eliminates the problem with the mix rising up and bubbling over the edges of a lower pan.  Each mug should cook 1 and 1/2 to 2 minutes in the microwave, on high.  I nuked mine for 1 minute, checked it, then gave it another 45 seconds or so.

After cooking, flip your mug over and the brownie should fall neatly out.  Cool the finished brownies in the fridge or freezer.  The texture and moisture on these come out right between a chewy fudge brownie at the top and a crispy-edged chocolate cookie at the bottom.  Unlike some complaints I saw online, I didn’t find that these turned out dry at all.  They would be delicious dipped in some milk or with a little scoop of ice cream on top, though! If I weren’t currently suffering an intense chocolate overdose from the one I just ate…

I can’t tell you how many ‘biscuits’ this makes, given that I scooped most of mine into a larger glass dish first, and only tried the mug for a dab that was left that wouldn’t safely fit.  You might also try using two glass tupperware-type containers and spreading a biscuit-thick layer on the bottom of each, to get the cookie texture, but be careful to only cook a minute or so at a time and keep checking it. They will likely burn or harden easily, if cooked for too long.

2 Responses to “Rum Double Chocolate Microwave Brownies”

  1. BK September 1, 2012 at 3:06 am #

    Now I have to wait another week for a cheat day to come up again. Or maybe cheat day doesn’t end till midnight,right? It’s midnight, somewhere?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strawberry Banana Cream Cheese Microwave Muffins | Oddvocado - April 21, 2013

    […] a set of silicone muffin-cups.  They’re safe for microwave use as well as oven use, and the Rum Double Chocolate Microwave Brownies come out like a dream, with them. Using them is much, much more convenient than using a mug, too.  […]

Leave a Reply

