Kumquat Salsa

3 Apr

kumquatsalsa001

So I’ve been playing more with photography, lately.  The other day, I happened to pass a fruit stall on the street and saw these (okay, I’m going to be stereotypical and say adorable) little citrus fruits heaped in baskets for less than $3. I honestly wasn’t what they were, at first.  I came home and googled about my confusion, and it turned out they were in fact kumquats, which I had never seen before that I could recall.  The obvious solution? Buy some the next morning. They were tiny and adorable, okay.

kumquatsalsa002

Just look how cute they are!

Ahem.

After that, the question became… what do you do with a bag full of kumquats? Google again!  I rifled through a few different recipe ideas, ruled out jellies and cocktails due to either not being that fond of most sweets or not wanting to go buy a bottle of some obscure liquor.  I settled on this one, because it looked fairly delicious but still simple, keeping the ingredients as fresh as possible. Given a few twists of my own, I’d be ready to make a second batch 10 hours after the first if I didn’t need to sleep soon!

Ingredients

2 cups thin-sliced kumquats (pick out the seeds and remove stems)
1 avocado, chopped
half a medium onion, chopped
1/4 cup roughly chopped cilantro
3 tbsp avocado oil (I used a lemon-infused variety)
1-2 tsp red pepper flakes (to taste)
a couple pinches of sea salt (to taste)
a dash of szechuan pepper (secret weapon!)
a squirt of lime juice

kumquatsalsa003

The only part of this preparation that takes any real time is slicing the kumquats and picking out the seeds.  (And those were pretty easy to catch, since the knife would hang up mid-slice on them and let me flick them out of the way.) Okay, maybe peeling the avocado, too, if it’s under-ripe.  You can leave big slices of it in a bowl of water while you’re peeling the rest to prevent it from browning from air exposure.

After slicing/chopping the first four ingredients, toss together in a large nonreactive bowl.  Add the avocado oil (if you don’t have it, a good olive oil won’t hurt–infused oils are fine if it’s citrus or chili).  Then, add red pepper flakes 1/4 tsp at a time, tasting as you go.  If you use cayenne powder, it’s better to be cautious than sorry.  My brand of red pepper flakes packs a kick, but I do like spicy food and added a fair amount to the mix.  Sprinkle sea salt over the bowl, mix, and taste again. Be aware that if you eat the salsa with salty chips, you don’t want to overpower it and taste nothing but salt.  Last, squirt some lime juice to finish off the blend and stir.  Refrigerate for a couple of hours before you plan to eat it, to let the flavors permeate the mix.

Serve with warm tortilla chips. Enjoy.  Alternatively, spoon some into steak fajitas, or use it to give fish a bit of citrus zing.

Makes about 2.5-3 cups of salsa.

kumquatsalsa004

2 Responses to “Kumquat Salsa”

  1. Qu.Ro April 3, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    I’ve been looking for an easy bring along to some upcoming informal gatherings. This looks like the perfect answer

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strawberry Banana Cream Cheese Microwave Muffins | Oddvocado - April 21, 2013

    […] I made the brownie recipe but added about half a cup of chopped kumquat I had left over from the salsa, and let me tell you, dark chocolate, coconut rum, and kumquats? Great pairing.  In the next, I […]

Leave a Reply

